Career Advice: Global/Public Health

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Assefa94

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a newly graduated college student with a degree in the life sciences and was looking to get some advice before I make my next move. I was considering moving into public health as a career and would love to hear more from the public health professionals in the group about the job prospects, quality of work and general outlook of the profession. I would also love to hear what people wish they knew when they were first starting out that they know now.

Any input would appreciated and would make a big impact on a major life decision.

/// Thanks to all

Members don't see this ad.

I am interested in a global health profession. Ideally working with NGOs like the UN/WHO. I currently have a biohcemistry degree, but do not know the plan of action I should follow in order to achieve these goals.

Members don't see this ad :)
I am interested in a global health profession. Ideally working with NGOs like the UN/WHO. I currently have a biohcemistry degree, but do not know the plan of action I should follow in order to achieve these goals.

If you are going to apply for public health school, then you would need to get public health experience, which can obtained through a variety of manners as it is a diverse field. This would give you an idea of what you want to get out of public health and what you could give back to the field. For work, you could even try to get a public health related job, or perhaps get experience via volunteer activities.

I am interested in a global health profession. Ideally working with NGOs like the UN/WHO. I currently have a biochemistry degree, but do not know the plan of action I should follow in order to achieve these goals.