hlsong

2+ Year Member
Jul 20, 2016
Status
  1. Pre-Health (Field Undecided)
Hi everyone! Hope you are well at this unprecedented time! I am new to SDN and I have a lot of questions since my case is a little special.. I would love to get some advice from you.

I am an immigrant from China and did my first two years of college in China with a pretty low GPA in engineering (about 3.5, might be even lower but with uptrend), then transferred to the UK for the next two years to finish my undergrad in B.Eng with a 1st Class Honors (equivalent to a 4.0 GPA?). I went to graduate school right after, at the University of Michigan (Ann Arbor) and received my MSc. degree in Engineering with a 3.85 GPA in 2016. I didn't get a job as an engineer. Instead, I've been working as a buyer for 3 years and I realized I want to become a dentist. I've never taken any biology and chemistry, only some engineering related math and physics with low grades. Since these courses were taken in China, I found it hard to convert to US equivalent GPA and I worry that the schools won't recognize them so I plan to retake all of the prerequisites at a local public university/college. I am now a green card holder, so I am eligible for in-state tuitions which would be a huge relief.

My questions are:

1. Should I be concerned about my degrees? Since I didn't complete my 4 year bachelor's degree in the USA or Canada, does my degree in the UK count as the minimum credit hours required by medical/dental schools? Maybe my graduate degree (30 credit hours) can help? If this is a concern, what should I do?

2. Should I quit my job? Is it worth it to quit my job and 100% focus on the prerequisites, or should I take the slower route to keep my job and attend less courses at nights? My job is 7am-3:30pm in the office. I make almost $70k before tax. I am 27 years old and would like to get into dental school by 30.