Chances of getting into a PA program, please help!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Elilly

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I know this thread has been posted so many times and I'm sorry to beat a dead horse but I'm getting sick with worry. I need to know if I am a competitive applicant for PA school or if I'm wasting a lot of time and money trying to get in. Background, I didn't really know I wanted to go to PA school until recently. I ended up having to take most of the science pre requisites after I got my bachelors degree. I majored in Psychology and had initially planned on going to graduate school for psych (only because I didn't know what else to do with my life) So I have a lot of research experience under my belt. In fact I co-authored research with one of my professors that got accepted to a national conference (GSA Gerontological Society of America) well I was really underwhelmed with the field of psychology, but now I am passionate for medicine. However, my undergraduate career doesn't quite reflect that passion since I didn't know what I wanted to be all through undergrad :( Here are my stats please let me know if I have a competitive chance at PA school or if I'm just wasting my time.

Degree: Psychology
Overall GPA: 3.92
Science GPA: 3.83 (includes all prerequisite work)
HCE: Weak. I currently work as a Medical Scribe but it's virtual. Thinking about enrolling in CNA school but worried it will be a little too late for this cycle
Shadowing: 50+
GRE: also weak, didn't study, planning on retaking - verbal 155 Quantitative 150

Members don't see this ad.