Changing role of Walgreens pharmacists

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

2012PharmDgrad

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a new grad (Class of 2012) and have been working for Walgreens for a month as a floater. So far, it's been an interesting and scary experience because I still don't know all the ins and outs of Intercom plus.

Anyway, I've spoken to two pharmacists who claim the role of the pharmacist is changing. Very soon, Walgreens pharmacists will no longer be working within the confines of the pharmacy. Pharmacists will be stationed just outside of the pharmacy and have their own desk, chair, and do consultations all day. They will be in direct contact with patients. From what I understood, the only people working in the pharmacy will be technicians. The pharmacist will no longer be responsible for dispensing, ringing customers out for their meds, milk, or whatever other products they purchase at the pharmacy. These two pharmacists explained these changes are already taking place at select pharmacies in my city.

What do you guys think about these changes? The pharmacists told me these upcoming changes appear to facilitate a pharmacist's job, but who knows? It seems to be pharmacists will be less burdened and stressed while technicians will have even more work without the pharmacist helping them out.

Does anyone have any insight or feedback about these changes? How do you think they will affect a pharmacist's salary and the overall stresses of retail pharmacy? Thanks.

Members don't see this ad.

It does sound a good thing because pharmacists are more involve. However...

One problem I see in this scenario is:

Who's going to check drug interactions and proper dosing?

I remember reading about this but who's going to verify the RX and monitor the technicians?