Chemistry B.A. vs. B.S.

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

iGolf

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am majoring in Chemistry and wanted to know what the benefits of each would be. i.e. Which will better prepare me for medical school, and, if I do not get in, which will be better to have a working Chemistry job?

Members don't see this ad.

BS will probably be better for industry...

BA is a liberal arts degree and you'll have to take more humanities.

For med school it doesn't matter, I don't think. Pursue whichever degree you will enjoy more (read: you take classes that you enjoy) and will do well in.

Members don't see this ad :)
BS in Chem because the idea that you can get an arts degree in a science is just weird.

come to think of it, a guy that I work in lab with has a BA in biochem or something.. and I tease him relentlessly.

BS is only necessary if you want to continue on to get your MS or PhD. At least at my school, the BA is recommended for all the professional schools (medical, dental, pharm, etc).

my school has only one option BA in chem.. lol

I'm going for a BA in Biology because this allowed me more room to get my minor in philosophy. Makes no difference as far as med school because you have to take the necessary pre-reqs regardless. I don't know how much it matters on the route to an MS or PhD, however.

I am majoring in Chemistry and wanted to know what the benefits of each would be. i.e. Which will better prepare me for medical school, and, if I do not get in, which will be better to have a working Chemistry job?

BS is only necessary if you want to continue on to get your MS or PhD. At least at my school, the BA is recommended for all the professional schools (medical, dental, pharm, etc).