Cleared all USMLE steps - considering AU or NZ residency

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

HHH3

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi guys,

I'm an IMG who has just come out of the US NRMP Match 2012 quite disappointed :(:(. I've cleared all USMLE steps from the first attempt, but couldn't secure a match in categorical IM! I am a non-US citizen. I graduated last year.

Since it seems ultra competitive in the US, I thought about applying to medical residency in Australia or New Zealand. I'm not looking for a competitive specialty (was interested in Radiology, but it looks like a faraway dream now). Internal medicine would be good. I'd appreciate it if you guys give me an idea about my chances in either countries, if I need to pass any more exams, and when the usual time of applying is.

Thank you.

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
In Australia and NZ you don't apply for "residency" exactly. You apply for a job as a house officer or intern, and spend a few years as a pre-vocational trainee before beginning vocational training (residency). So its a matter of finding a hospital that will take you in in either country. Our hospital year begins in December or January, but you probably could find a hospital that has an open position for you - so basically you need to start applying ASAP. I'd suggest New Zealand as being likely to have more vacancies than Australia right now, particularly in rural locations.

I would suggest going to this website and searching for "house officer".

Use google to find out about the exams you have to sit. They are not difficult.

In New Zealand the professional colleges require two years of pre-vocational training known as the "House Officer" or "House Surgeon" years.