Clinical Experience Options?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

thedude777

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey Everyone,

I am currently a premed sophomore and thinking about starting clinical volunteering or training to work for a clinical job. I was just wondering what clinical experience option to go for. As far as I know, the main options are EMT, scribing, and volunteering at a clinic or hospital. Does anyone possibly know of other clinical jobs or volunteering opportunities?

As far as those three go, I feel that taking classes and becoming certified as an EMT would take quite a while at this point so I would only be able to work as an EMT for a short period of time. Scribing sounds the most interesting to me, but I feel as though it would be minimal patient contact and getting into scribing itself in my area is very hard since a lot of premeds at my school want to do it. In addition, all the hospitals and clinics in my area require a car for scribing, which I am not allowed to have this year but would be allowed to have next year. With clinical volunteering, I have the option of two hospitals and one clinic which are feasible to go to with the bus system. With the clinic, I believe that there would be greater patient contact but it is only open on weekdays and closes at 5 most days, so I'd probably only be able to volunteer for a very short time every week. On the other hand, the hospitals would be open on weekends, giving me more time to volunteer there, but would also have the risk of lesser patient contact (since there are so many volunteers at each, it's possible I could get shifted to stocking cabinets).