Columbia vs. UCSF (OOS) vs. TX-Houston (IS)

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

toothy97

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all,

I was lucky enough to be accepted to all the dental schools I applied to, and have narrowed it down to three (which I have already put down deposits for). However, I am struggling severely with which school to choose. I want to specialize- and am specifically interested in OMFS- so Columbia and UCSF are very appealing for that. However, I am a TX resident, and UT Houston is significantly cheaper- another draw except for the fact it seems much more geared towards producing general dentists.

Columbia:
-450k total for living expenses, tuition, etc :(
-Great medical integration (I've always loved learning about the human body, and it would prepare me well for CBSE)
-95% got accepted to post-bac
-Its always been my dream to live in New York. This might be my only chance to do so.
-GREAT family atmosphere
-Pass/fail

UT Houston:
-CHEAP. 252k total for everything.
-In the largest medical center in the word, numerous opportunities because of this
-Great family atmosphere
-No statistics on amount that specialize- but again, seems to be mostly geared towards general dentistry (someone who goes there can correct me on this?)
-Graded (NOT pass/fail)

San Francisco:
-373k total
-Awesome curriculum that is also pass/fail
-Friendly students and faculty
-Also great for specializing

I know people always say go to the cheapest school, but I also value experiences. Being able to live in a completely different city and have different experiences is really valuable to me, and I don't think I would enjoy living in Houston as much. However, finances might very well outweigh that. Any opinions would be appreciated!

Members don't see this ad.

Hi all,