Communication Sciences/Disorders Undergrad?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

neabby21

Reaction score
Hi! Okay, so I'm a little late in the game in switching to pre-med. I am currently a junior majoring in Communication Sciences and Disorders (previously on an SLP track) and Hispanic Studies. I am planning on adding an extra year + summer classes to get a minor in Biology along with the pre-reqs I'll need for medical school and the classes I'll need to take the MCAT.

I am very intimidated by the process, and I don't have anyone in my family who is familiar with it at all.

Clinically, I worked as a CNA for 18 months, I've been a PCA for 3 years, and I'm currently working as a phlebotomist. I also volunteer with Hospice, and with some of the Spanish Immersion programs in the area. I'm working on research for this upcoming fall that is CSD related and partially neurology based.

Am I on track? I'm planning on taking a few months after my extra year of school to study for the MCAT, so I can have a couple gap years. I have a 4.00 right now, but I am expecting hard sciences courses to be more of a challenge for me than my CSD and Spanish courses. I am planning on doing some shadowing this summer, but I'm not really sure how many hours to shoot for. Additionally, I am planning to spend a summer volunteering at a camp for children with special needs.

Mostly, I am just very intimidated by this process, and I'm not sure if I'm on track or not, or if there's anything I'm missing. I am based in Northern Minnesota and hoping to focus on rural based medicine (UMD is preferred school).

Members don't see this ad.

Yes, you are on the right track. There is no need to be intimidated -- there is an entire community here on SDN, as well as through advising at your school, to help guide you along the way.