Computer Science Vs Biology

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Markknam

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
This has been discussed many times. I am a freshman at Harvard and have the option to choose Biology Vs Computer Science. However I like computer science. If I take biology as a pre-med major, will I have a better chance for medical school admission?

Members don't see this ad.

You will be an invaluable asset to medicine with computer science

Members don't see this ad :)
You should do computer science and not even worry about what will look better for medical school. You're getting a degree from Harvard, which will speak volumes.

Reactions: 1 users
Do computer science. You can 'pick up' all the things that matter in biology pretty quickly.

I thought of CS as a 'fun extracurricular' course when I was starting UG. A few years later I began to realize that I could have majored in something I thoroughly enjoyed (though I do love chem, too) if I hadn't been silly enough to think that 'enjoyable' meant 'I should do this as much as possible when I have time after less-fun and therefore clearly more educational things'.

CS is incredibly useful no matter which field you end up in (most definitely including healthcare) and you should do what you love. If anything, it'll help you stand out a bit. More likely, no one will blink an eye at it and you'll end up spending 4 years on something you enjoy and which will help you later.