Courses you wish you took as undergrad

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

bigbutrealdreams

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello dear future dentists,

I am a mere undergraduate struggling to make my schedule for the next few semesters.
Are there any classes you wish you took as an undergrad that could have been helpful to you now in d.s.?

Thanks <3

Members don't see this ad.

I never took microbio, that would have opened up a lot more doors for applications. Seeing as I've been out of school a while I didn't want to have to go back and take it. A lot of schools require that now on top of the standard chemi/bio/physics load.

Accounting, business law, finance.

Every biology and chemistry class you take in college will only prepare you for the first year of dental school. Nothing in undergrad comes close to dental-specific classes. I took every relevant bio and chem class and while I enjoyed them, those classes only allowed me to study a little less during D1. I wish I would have looked further into the future and taken classes relevant to business ownership.

Reactions: 4 users
Members don't see this ad :)
You should only take classes that you think you can easily get As in. The more classes you take, the higher chance of getting Bs and Cs, which will hurt your overall GPA. Remember, you are competing against other very smart college kids. During my undegrad years, I only took classes that were required for getting a BS degree in Biology. Because I had some music backgrounds, I took a couple of music classes to help boost my GPA.

Now looking back, I wish I should have done like what a few of my dental school classmates did. They saved one undergrad year by only taking the prerequisite classes for dental school and they got good enough GPA to get accepted to dental school without a BS degree. I got a BS degree and I don't even know where I put it right now.