Damage Control for Low GPA

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Dr_OneDay

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi, all. I'm a recent graduate with a BA in biological sciences, and unfortunately a very low GPA (cGPA: 3.04 and sGPA: 2.73). I never failed any classes, but I did the worst senior year (b/c of financial problems and my mother in the ICU before an upper level bio class final, which I failed).
I had some general questions about salvaging my application.

1. B/c of my low GPA, I'm taking two gap years. This year, I'm retaking certain upper level science courses and taking additional upper level science courses at a local university as a non degree grad student. Is this a wise course of action? I've been looking at some other threads, but I'm still not sure if these grades will be averaged into my undergrad grades or counted as post bacc grades.

2. I'm also thinking of joining an SMP program in my state. My current plan is to get my GPA up to a 3.15 by taking 17-20 science credits, and enroll in an SMP program next year. I already took my MCAT and got a 506 overall, and I will be retaking the exam in Jan.

3. Would three gap years be advisable for me? I plan on applying to allopathic schools only. My goal is to get into an allopathic school, even though I'll probably get autoscreened at most places. I will definitely reapply if I don't get in the first time. My advisor was saying that each consecutive round of applications is more competitive than the previous one, (higher overall GPA and MCAT of applicants), so I'm not sure if the extra year would even be beneficial for me.

4. During the SMP, will the medical schools see the grades I get in those classes and (if I perform well in the classes), can it give my application the "boost" that it needs?

Sorry for the long post. I'm a new member, and don't know too much about the medical school process. Thanks for reading and/or replying.