Daycares Open During COVID, But Schools Can't. Huh?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Birdstrike

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Did your state close daycares during COVID-19? Mine never did. In fact, we don't have a single death in any child 10 or under after months of a pandemic, in my whole state.

Maybe the EM/Peds docs on this forum can chime in: Are you seeing clusters of children critically ill with COVID that they got from daycare? In daycare workers?

Currently, there are people strongly pushing to keep schools closed, or so restricted they can't function, at a time daycares have been and will remain wide open.

Does this make sense?

Members don't see this ad.

Well if I'm a teacher, and can get my full salary for staying home and doing minimal work, while having to time to pursue other sources of income, I'd do it too.

There is no incentive for teachers to return, and every incentive for them to resist reopening efforts. Unions make it impossible to lay off or threaten teachers who refuse (irrationally) to go back to work.

Yet another argument for abolition of the public school system, and implementation of universal charter system (like Sweden has).

Reactions: 1 users
Members don't see this ad :)
Our daycare closed, but then re-opened with limited capacity, temperature checks, mask wearing, etc.

There's no denying it's a risk, primarily to the parents & staff.

We took the risk. Just means we ourselves have to assume we could be unwitting agents at any time and reduce our own bubble, wear masks/wash hands to protect others frequently.

Reactions: 1 user
If daycares are getting reopened, so should schools. Idk what to say about public unions. There are a lot of major problems with them and i can easily see teachers' unions strongly opposing reopening.

Our daycare closed, but then re-opened with limited capacity, temperature checks, mask wearing, etc.