Demotivated and looking for genuine advice

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

UnsureAboutLife

Reaction score
Hi! So I am a 27 year old who decided to pursue medicine in 2018. I graduated in 2016 with a degree in Computer Engineering. I majored in that for a multitude of reasons I wont bore you with but ultimately I never enjoyed my major and my GPA reflected that. I graduated with a 3.1 GPA and started working immediately as a software engineer in NYC. Fast forward to 2 years later I had been really considering going back to school to study medicine and after much thought decided to apply to the NYU postbacc program and got in for spring 2019 semester to take my prereqs. Over the course of 2 years I completed 51 credits and received a GPA of 3.7. I dont know if science GPA matters for postbaccs but I did take a bunch of science classes in my undergrad and got a 3.7 GPA on that, it was mostly my Electrical Engineering courses that were kicking my ass. I am scheduled to take my MCAT in late Jan and so far most of my practice tests land me in the 510 ballpark but I am still hoping to improve that by the exam date. I was working full time during my postbacc (even started my own company) due to monetary reasons (I am an immigrant who moved her on my own at 19 and have no relatives to help me pay for school). During the past 2 years I started doing extra curriculars, which were the following:
Clinical Volunteering - 1 year (400 hours)
EMT work - 4 months (220 hours) -- was also an EMT during the height of the pandemic