Dental anesthesiology

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ariredso823

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all,
I’m in 1st year and I just found out about dental anesthesiology residency. I’m not to fond of working with teeth so far but I love the medical/bio side of things. Could someone shed light on the competitiveness of this residency and the best way to get in. Also if you don’t get in, does doing a GPR and reapplying increase your chances of getting in?

Also is it a very competitive field once you have the job or are dental Anesthesiologists preferred over medical Anesthesiologists ?

Members don't see this ad.

This doesn't answer all of your questions but it was the best post I read regarding DA.

I researched on DA extensively while I was in dental school, even had lunch with practicing DA's and program faculties.

In short, pros are:

1. Very lucrative if you are in high demand, with minimum effort in comparison to what oral surgeons have to go through to make a good living.
2. 2 yrs residency with relatively low competition.
3. Great hours if you schedule your cases together on certain days.
4. Very small overhead in terms of business (just need to buy the meds, and pay for 1 assistant who travels with DA).
5. It's a cheaper route for Pediatric dentists than sending patients to the hospital for GA, they can do GA in-house with the DA.

Cons:
1. Long and odd trips between practices. Some DA's go to one city for few cases, the next day they could be on the other side of the state (if not on neighboring states). All those driving can ultimately turn the DA to a truck driver.
2. Malpractice Insurance is uber high.
3. Tricky to sell DA service to dentists who need the services, you have to win their confidence with time and patience.
4. Competing with Medical anesthesiologist and OS guys in some markets, and there was even talks about DA's should not exist by the AAOMFS.