Desperate med student--quit med school?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Desperatemed

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi fellow medical students!

I'm a 25 year old medical student from europe. I started studying at the age of 22. I was never 100% sure if medicine is the right path for me but I always liked the idea behind medicine (helping people and being kinda independent--parents have private practice in derm so I thought I have a good option there too).
I considered law and business administration too but didn't like the politics that was supposedly involved in being a lawyer and manager.
That aside I'll honestly admit that the prestige in medicine attracted me too.

Academically I really didn't struggle much---I passed with pretty decent grades. I wasn't really interested much in the medical science but I found memorizing stuff not to be too difficult. The problem with me was the practical stuff----I hated dissecting in anatomy, I could barely eat afterwards and I didn't really get used to it. I was very happy once that was over (although I passed with an A grade). I also totally dislike hospitals and am very uncomfortable touching patients and I'm very afraid of catching infectious diseases such as HIV/Hep C. I know all this sounds completely ridiculous for someone that planned to be a doctor but I always thought that I'd get used to it but now at the age of 25 , 3 years in medical school I feel like I'm at some type of crossroad. In my country med school takes 6 years so I have another 3 years left. At this point I'm 99,9% sure that medical practice is never gonna be something for me and I'm not even interested in laboratory work/research etc.
Another huge downside to medicine is the type of personal responsibility that you carry as a doctor. I honestly believe I could never be able to live a normal life again if I seriously hurt a patient due to wrong therapy or diagnosis.