This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

PersistentImmigrant

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
l

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Uphill battle with those MCAT scores. If your third one show a TON of improvement I think you’ll be fine, but if it’s <500 your odds are a lot worse

Reactions: 1 users
Members don't see this ad :)
I’m not an expert, but I would at least apply. Given that it is your 3rd MCAT, I don’t think you can expect to do a whole lot better. KILL your essays, shoot your best shot possible, and see if anybody bites.

If you get no love whatsoever, I’d look at alternate careers like DMU podiatry. They are a legit program! With your stats a small scholarship may even be possible.

Unless MCAT #3 shows dramatic improvement, you're quite a long shot. I'd apply even more broadly; include all the new schools. See what happens. I'm not encouraged regarding your chances of success in med school with your current stats, though.

College: Big-10 University. Indiana Resident

MCAT 4/2017: 490 (was sick during the exam. I know I should’ve voided but I had the thought process of “F*ck it” at that time)

MCAT 2/2018: 496 ( C/P: 124, CARS: 123, B/B: 123, C/P: 126)

Retook MCAT 4/2018: awaiting score

Major: Biology, Psych minor

ORM, Asian. Immigrated to the US at age 11.

sGPA: 3.41

cGPA: 3.37

Completed senior year with a 4.0 GPA.

Clinical: ~5000 hours of scribe experience. With ~100 of those hours scribing for a DO

Leadership: Mentor for 2 separate organizations, Vice-President for an organization, Representative for an organization

Volunteer: 70 hour hospital volunteer + 100 hour miscellaneous

Research: 2-year lab experiences. Co-authored 1 pending publication

Mission Trip: week-long international mission trip serving rural population in

LOR: 2 Science professors, 1 MD, 1 Research Advisor (and possibly 1 from a DO)