Do I have enough extracurriculars?

RLeenm

7+ Year Member
Reaction score

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Hey everyone,

I'm currently a Junior in high school. I want to go to University of Illinois at Chicago. The main reason is that they have the gppa program and I would love to get into that. The only thing is that I feel like I do not have enough extracurriculars. I am currently volunteering at the hospital, I am an assistant teacher at my Sunday school, and I am in this home schooling club like thing. I was thinking of doing some research type summer program if I can find any this summer. Any advice on what I can do? Thanks in advance.

Medical schools don't care what you did in high school, for the most part.

That being said, if you're trying to get into a linkage program with a med school, then volunteering at a hospital, helping at your Sunday school, and running a homeschoolers' club are great ECs.

If you're just trying to go the regular route of 4 year undergrad -> 4 year MD, then you just need to get into college, do well in your classes, and participate in ECs/research as an undergrad.

Good luck!

Reactions: 1 user
I'm currently a Junior in high school. I want to go to University of Illinois at Chicago. The main reason is that they have the gppa program and I would love to get into that. The only thing is that I feel like I do not have enough extracurriculars. I am currently volunteering at the hospital, I am an assistant teacher at my Sunday school, and I am in this home schooling club like thing. I was thinking of doing some research type summer program if I can find any this summer. Any advice on what I can do? Thanks in advance.
I happen to know a person who got into that program many years ago.