Does a PharmD Fulfill a Bachelor's Reqirement?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

mock94

Membership Revoked
Removed
7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello Everyone,

It seems like every single Osteopathic school has an explicit requirement of a bachelor's degree before matriculation. This contrasts many MD schools having a requirement of 90 credit hours for matriculation.

I am a PharmD student (no bachelor's) and will be applying in a couple of years to medical schools. I am wondering if my PharmD degree would substitute for a Bachelor's in the eyes of Osteopathic schools.

Thanks for your time

Members don't see this ad.

Hello Everyone,

It seems like every single Osteopathic school has an explicit requirement of a bachelor's degree before matriculation. This contrasts many MD schools having a requirement of 90 credit hours for matriculation.

I am a PharmD student (no bachelor's) and will be applying in a couple of years to medical schools. I am wondering if my PharmD degree would substitute for a Bachelor's in the eyes of Osteopathic schools.

Thanks for your time

Hey, I'm in the same situation as you.. currently only holding a PharmD degree without a bachelor's. I've e-mailed a bunch of schools to see whether I'd meet the requirements - only a few schools gave me a positive answer so far.

Hello, I'm in the same situation as the both of you. I have been looking into post-bacc programs and they will only take students with BS/BA degrees. A pharmD doesn't qualify, unfortunately.

@ PositiveThoughts - could we collaborate and share a list of schools that we have both contacted to save time/effort?

Members don't see this ad :)
Hey, my options will be much narrower than your options as I'm also a Canadian applicant. I'll msg back once I get my main computer back. How's your journey going so far?