Down Not Out: Putting this in the Ether

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

SisypheanPhoenix

Only way to go now is up
7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello My Fellow Peoples,

31 year old, URM female here...

Back Story:
I am originally from Jamaica and left relatively young, around 5 years old. My mother is a Registered Nurse for the past 34 years and my father did some Book Keeping in Jamaica at the hospital but once they emigrated, he became a stay-at-home father. My parents initially went ahead to establish themselves in Toronto, Canada and I eventually joined them there when I was 5 years old. At the time, job prospects for my mother brought us to the U.S.A then subsequently Florida and I’ve been here since then.

School Ties: (<< Good movie by the way)
I graduated high school in 2005, started at my state university that fall and registered as a Biomedical Science major. I was very involved in volunteer and premed organizations holding some leadership roles; however, in hindsight, a combination of poor time management and procrastination had me shifting more focus on the extracurriculars instead of my studies. My grades slipped and oscillated for a bit which amounted to an academic dismissal in Fall 2007. I was essentially instructed to leave and register at a community college to prove my competence before coming back. I then registered at one of my local community colleges and was there for Spring, Summer and Fall of 2008 and graduated with an AA. I petitioned and got back into my former university Spring 2009 on the contingency that I switched my major to something else—I chose Psychology and graduated with a BA in it May 2011.

Limbo: