DPT vs. MD

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

sean2929

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi, I just graduated from UC Berkeley with a double major in Integrative and Biology and Psychology with a 3.97 GPA, with all my prerequisites complete besides biochemistry. I am an older student (26). I have not taken the MCAT yet, but I wasn’t sure if I should. If I did start med school I would not be able to apply until fall ’08 school year. I volunteer at a crisis line, was involved in a student health promotion program, and volunteered at a hospital, but I feel like I might not have enough clinical experience to highlight in my personal statement. I was a foster child, so I had to take many remedial classes and work as well. Therefore, I feel like my eight years of undergraduate work could be seen as a big weakness.

I thought it might be an uphill battle, so I am considering doing something with decent pay (avg. $60,000) and a high probability of being acceptance, hence the DPT (doctorate in physical therapy) program (considering Duke, possibly USC as well). However, I have worked long and hard, and feel I might regret not going into medicine. I hear stories again and again about MD’s who are overworked, but I don’t really know many MD’s to reference this to. Is it possible to enjoy a balanced life as an MD? Given my background and goals of balance, should I pursue the DPT or MD? Thanks for any advice.

Members don't see this ad.