Engineering Major - Pre Reqs for medical school?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

CPREme

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone,
I am a freshman at a 4 year college pursuing a degree in computer engineering. After completing my degree I would like to go to medical school. So far I’m having a couple of problems...

1) My university is more orientated towards engineering so they don’t really have anyone here who can help me learn about the pre reqs or advise me in what I need to do for medical school. I have been looking online to help understand what the pre reqs are so far I have found:
  1. 1 year gen chem
  2. 1 semester gen biology
  3. 1 year organic chem
  4. 1 semester physics
  5. 1 semester psychology/sociology
  6. 1 semester calculus
Are these right, are there any others I should know about?

2) I’m having a hard time fitting in my engineering courses along with the pre reqs for medical school, I’ve started taking general chemistry; for next semester, one of the best options for me would be to take my physics course at a community college or online from a community college, but I saw that it is frowned upon by medical schools, is that true?

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 user
Don't forget to add Biochemistry to that list. I've had multiple peers be perfectly fine getting into medical schools after taking physics at a community college. I wouldn't advise taking a lot of courses at a community college, but if the circumstances help you fit everything into your schedule for physics, then there shouldn't be a problem with that idea. However, someone who is, or has been on ADCOMS may chime in on your thread with more input.

Be sure to stick around SDN, there is tons of resources/people here to help you along these next four years.

1. This thread should be moved to pre-meds
  2. Buy the MSAR