F in Cellular Biology

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

docpar

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey, I am a freshman in undergraduate (1st term). I just got my final grades for the term, and I got an F in Cellular Biology. here are my grades so far

General Chemistry - A-
Calculus with Application to Life Sciences - A-
Chemistry Lab - A
Biology Lab - A
Discover New York - A-
BIOLOGY - F

Now, say if i get all A's for the rest of my undergraduate, do i still have a shot at getting into medical school (i'll retake the class and hopefully get an A). What about if i try to get a late withdrawal from the course, and retake the course?

thanks for any help
(i can take critical, honest answers.)
thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

Get a withdrawal if you can.

You should retake biology. An F in a pre-requisite is not a very good thing. It may prove rather debilitating, actually. That said, I doubt you'll be able to petition a withdrawal.

Members don't see this ad :)
Being that you received straight A's in your other classes, I'm sure that you can get a withdrawal if you have a "valid" excuse.;) It's not like you are a slacker and have a history of failing classes. However, you may want to petition it as soon as possible in order to have a better chance. Good Luck!

the schools take grade trends into account, so 1 F in your freshman year(first semester no less), won't disqualify you at all. Just retake the course and get an A.

an F is not good at all. A C is one thing but an F is terrible. You must retake it an get an A; that is the only way you even have a chance. Even then you better have an extremely (and I mean extremely like you lost a loved one and couldn't take the final but it was too late to withdraw) excuse to even think about applying to medical school. You'll have to explain it at some point. Don't let people who tell you it will be alright fool you. Be realistic.