FAFSA: submit now or wait a month to have a lower, more accurate reflection of household income?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
Reaction score
I am far from an expert on financial-related things and could use some insight on this situation I'm in. From what I've gathered, it's best to submit the FAFSA as soon as possible to be considered for school-specific scholarships. Also, even if you're completely independent, you have to list your parents' financial info. However, I'm in a bit of a pickle where my parents both took all of their money out of their retirement accounts this past year to essentially give me an interest-free loan for some of the cost of medical school (I'm super blessed here). Their household income is not very high, but on paper, taking this money out makes it seem like they make way more than they actually do. If they wait until they file their new tax returns in late January, it will reflect the actual amount they make, which is significantly less than what it would currently reflect. Basically, what I'm asking is, is it beneficial (beneficial referring to getting school-specific need-based scholarships) to wait until January to have an accurate reflection of their household income that is much lower, or to just submit it as soon as possible, i.e. today?

Members don't see this ad.

The FAFSA will NOT accept tax data from 2020. It will ONLY accept data from 2019. Unfortunately, even if you wait till January, you will not be permitted to use that new tax data. You will need to contact individual schools to appeal for a change in circumstances and it will be entirely up to them whether or not they wish to factor that into your EFC.