Filling foreign rx

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

twizzlers713

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a tech at CVS :thumbdown: and my PIC is on vacation this week, so we had a floater this weekend. When we opened, an American girl who lives in Europe brought us a script in Russian, which the floater proceeded to fill. Rph took 3 full hours, 180 minutes, editing, translating, entering a FOREIGN physician into our system, and eventually filling. This was for depakote, 300mg. Rph instructed patient to OPEN the 250mg capsules and pour a fraction of the powder into water and drink along with a capsule, :eek:. I took no part in filling the rx or even interacting with the patient, as I was almost positive that it should have been taken care quickly when we realized the script wasn't from the USA.

TLDR

1. Is filling foreign prescriptions legal here? I am told no.
2. My store is in hot water as it is, should I fear for my PIC's license and/or employment? Even thought she wasn't around today?
3. Should I have done more to prevent this from occurring? I plan on quitting CVS in 6 weeks so I'm laying low

Thanks for any advice

as a side note, the patient sat quite quietly and politely for the full duration of this ordeal.

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
O floaters aren't they great. From what I know the Rx must be written by a licensed U.S. physician because one time some lady tried getting a Rx filled at my store from one of those U.S. owned territory and it wasn't valid.

-that floater is gonna get a talking to once your PIC finds out and files a dispensing error on them.

1. Probably not legal, although I don't know the law in all 50 states.
2. Probably not, unless something bad happens or the pharmacist gets reported to the state board. But probably not.
3. Not your fault, nothing you could have done.