For those interested/thinking about attending Mount Sinai SOM

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

johndorian

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello to all. I am currently a MS1 student at MSSM nearing the end of my first year. I remember the anguish and (pleasant) frustration behind choosing a school by the May 15th deadline. In the spirit of free speech and open information, I thought I would share some of the honest negatives about attending MSSM before the May 15th deadline.

Price: as a private school in New York City attending Sinai is obviously and expensive commitment. The student budget this academic year is $53,500. Next year it increases to $55,340. The cost of living in New York is expensive, with no large discount supermarkets and all prices juiced somewhat.

Location: Being in New York is great. There’s nothing quite like it, but it’s not for everyone, be honest with your self on that one. The neighborhood around Sinai is very bland. The area lacks character and shuts down at around 11 each night. This has been frustrating when trying to find any sort of reasonable food delivery late night when studying for exams. In addition, there aren’t any decent bars near the school.

Another issue concerning the location is safety. To the south is a very affluent area that is considered quite safe, but to the north is a different story. Two blocks away from Aron Hall (student hosing), and across the street from the Hospital there are blocks and blocks of projects (low income housing.) This is not an area you want to be wandering around in after dark.

Grading: completely pass/fail. This can be great, and it can be detracting. Without a high pass or honors option, it can be hard to find motivation to push yourself when your 96 will be regarded as no better than your classmate’s 73. Apathy sets in real quick.