Foreign graduate with some questions please help as fast as possible

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

monro

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello i'm a foreign student about to graduate i obtained my green card through family and i want to apply for license in California but i have some questions:

1- when i finish the licensing process and after i become a US citizen will i be equal to a US pharmacist in qualification and have the same opportunity to find a job as a retail pharmacist in a chain store for example?

2- the biggest problem is that i know there is 1500 HRs that i have to spend working as an intern but do i have to work in both hospital and retail pharmacy environments? if i found a job as pharmacy technician will that count towards finishing the 1500 hours as an intern or is there a difference between the pharmacy tech and the pharmacy graduate intern?

3- i heard it's pretty hard for a foreign graduate to work as an intern in a chain pharmacy even after being licensed as a pharmacy intern by the NABP do you think i will find a job easly and if i accepted to work in an independent pharmacy for less money for example 8 or 10$ per hour would it help? or do i have to work for free the entire 1500 hours period (which is 6 or seven months) i heard that i might have to accept a very low payment in an independent pharmacy and in the same time practice as intern in a hospital without any payment in order to finish the 1500 Hrs period how true is that?

please help me as soon as u read any info will be quite helpful and very welcomed

thanks a lot in advance

Members don't see this ad.

1- when i finish the licensing process and after i become a US citizen will i be equal to a US pharmacist in qualification and have the same opportunity to find a job as a retail pharmacist in a chain store for example?