Foreign transcript for AMCAS

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
D

deleted706894

Resolved

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited by a moderator:
Hi, I have a bachelor degree from an Australian university. And I really really want to study medicine in the U.S.
Here is something about me
My undergrad GPA is only 3.0 (evaluated by WES) , this's mainly due to my health issue in the past few years, I had a major chest surgery in 2012 and developed PTSD after that.
Two years full time research experience, gonna submit two papers for publication at the end of this year.
50 hours doctor shadowing experience, it is extremely hard to shadow a doctor in Australia, cuz most hospitals or clinics won't allow non-medical students to be in the clinic.
50 hours volunteering experience so far and will continue to do more.
MCAT 36M, but about to expire soon, I will retake the new one this month.
LOR: I will have 3 letters from my supervisors and lecturers, one of my supervisors is kinda a big deal in his area.

I understand for an international student, it is extremely hard or even impossible to get into MD in the U.S. But I still want to give it a try. I've contacted some med schools, they all require at least an additional year of science study in the U.S, typically 30 credit hours for post bacc.

So here is my question,
Will the med schools in the U.S completely ignore my undergrad GPA from Australia or will they look it up at some point? I saw some threads saying that during the primary application, AMCAS won't ask you for your transcript if it's from a foreign institute, because they can't verify it even if you use WES to evaluate your transcript. But some universities may ask for your foreign transcript when it comes to secondary applications.