fourth time MCAT

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

gabbers22

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey all--
I will be taking the MCAT for a fourth time this August...and I was wondering if that will be looked down upon when I apply this summer to DO schools? This is my first time applying...I thought that my scores were too low to apply before...any advice would be helpful!
My scores:
August 1999: 19P
August 2000: 20P
August 2001: 23Q

Members don't see this ad.

Gabbers--
Why are you taking the test again? What is your GPA and extracurricular activities/healthcare experience like? I took the MCAT once, scored a 21N, and I will be a first year at UHS.
To me, if other things look good on your record, I wouldn't recommend taking the test again!!

As far as it looking bad, it might; just depends on everything else!!

Good luck

Chris

If your hosently considering taking the MCAT again. I would take a prep course.

Or did you do that already?

If the only thing keeping you out of Med school is the MCAT then take a course and really improve.

Good Luck

AK

Members don't see this ad :)
gabbers:

Take the MCAT again for a 4th time. You MUST improve your score to approx. 27 total. I recommend being less concerned with how the Admissions Committees perceive an applicant taking the MCAT 4 times, and be more concerned with whether you can improve your score to a satisfactory mark.

drchris:

your MCAT score was deplorable. I'm personally disappointed when Osteopathic Medical Schools overlook the importance of a good MCAT score.

Good luck.

nycom@juno,