Future of Osteopathic Research

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Ohiobuddhist

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
For all those DO/PhD hopefuls, students, grads out there, I was wondering what you think the future of DO research should be. Should DO school researchers focus primarily on substantiating OMM techniques or integrate this type of research into more "mainstream" medical research? Perhaps a follow-up question, then is, what do you think will actually happen? I, personally, am optimistic about the future of osteopathic research, but what do you all think?

Members don't see this ad.

As an allopathic student I think the future of osteopathic research needs to focus FIRST on producing evidence that unequivocally supports OMT and the use of it in treating a wide range of issues. The next target should be researching the "osteopathic approach" to health and healing and showing that it is clinically significant and not a bunch of mantras thrown about the profession to "distinguish" itself from the allopathic profession.

I am of the opinion that much needs to be done within the profession itself in order to allow it to grow and prosper. I think the DO profession is currently in a standstill of sorts. The heads of the profession are content that DOs have practice rights throughout the United States and a system of 19 undergraduate osteopathic medical colleges. The heads of the AOA don't seem to be particularly concerned that their graduates increasingly seek training at institutions NOT sponsored by them. The AOA and the profession as a whole needs to become self-sufficient. The AOA should have a system of postgraduate training opportunities in osteopathic institutions that can train each and every one of the 2,500 or so osteopathic graduates every year.