Gap year after bad freshman year advice

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

jep12345

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey SDN... I'm finishing up my freshman year and will end up in a pretty bad spot (around a 2.5 gpa). Came in as a business major, ended up becoming very ill at the end of the semester and ended that with a 2.3. Started Bio major second semester, will probably end up with a 2.5-3.0.

I know that's salvageable, however, I don't think I'm in a good mental state to continue my studies currently. I've struggled with some pretty bad anxiety and depression (something that has never came up until this year), not to mention that I took out a humongous private loan (13k at 12% interest) to come to state school my first year, which I realize now was an awful decision. Throughout high school, I was an above average student with very high test scores and a decent gpa, but didn't really gain any scholarships. I have no financial backing currently... pay my own rent and tuition (on loans this year).

It's always been my dream to attend a great medical school, but going from high school to the "real world" without the help of my parents was really a shock to me - I've struggled. What I'm now planning on doing is a gap year to work full time, pay off these loans, and get as much shadow and volunteer experience as possible. My current environment isn't very good for me... I live in a huge party house, living paycheck to paycheck, struggling in school, etc. After that I want to restart my pre-medical studies at a cc, and go from there. I guess my question is does this sound like a good idea? Is taking a gap year right now and restarting college a better idea than just transferring to the cc this upcoming fall semester? Should I make getting rid of this loan debt a priority now, or just put it off until later? Any and all advice is appreciated!

Members don't see this ad.

Sorry to hear of your woes.