Gap year jobs that can pay

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Endoxifen

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
For those who have taken a gap year, what jobs did you do to support yourself? What other activities did you do with the year? Did you volunteer or do research with or outside of this job? Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
For those who have taken a gap year, what jobs did you do to support yourself. What other activities did you do with the year? Did you volunteer or do research with or outside of this job? Thanks!

I graduated last year and I am taking two gap years (so applying this coming cycle). Currently I do full time research at a medical school in Manhattan (pays about 40-45k). I also volunteer at a hospital and tutor middle school students on the weekends. I like research but honestly the most important thing to do if you are taking a gap year is clinical and non-clinical volunteering. If you want a job that pays that is related to the medical field, it depends entirely on if you're planning on taking 1 or 2 gap years. I was initially planning on taking 1 year off and I couldn't find any research positions because most places require at least a 2 year commitment.

Reactions: 1 user
Rule of thumb: Higher pay = less experience/more junk work. Lower pay = greater experience/more interesting work.

Basically, scribing is the best experience (especially in an ER) but pays pretty low (around $9-10 hr for the majority of your time there). However, you could scribe at a private clinic for up to $15, but it's going to be more paperwork/office work than working for one of the large companies.