Gap Year or two?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

automobile_la

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am pre-pharmacy graduating senior. I still have 2-3 prerequisite classes I need to take before applying for pharm school. I was originally planning on taking just one gap year, but I realized I may not be a competitive candidate.

--I have no research experience
--I haven't taken the PCAT (not required for CA schools), but still considering on taking it
--I am planning to get my pharm tech license and apply to a pharmacy during my gap year
--Also planning on doing some volunteer work
-- I still need letters of rec

Since applications for the next school year start this summer, now I am unsure whether I can complete the application and make myself look like a competitive candidate in time. But I'm scared waiting until next summer to apply (2 gap years) is too long?

Any advice? I would like to hear from someone who took one or two gap years and tell me about their experience.

Members don't see this ad.

I took a gap year I felt it was not worth it made me feel like I wasted a whole year. I decided that I needed a year off during December of 2013 so I still had time to change my mind. During this year I have been working two Jobs, volunteering at a hospital pharmacy on and off, took the pcat , and signed up for a class. Since you already passed the cycle coming up your gap year is inevitable so do everything during then but you will feel like you wasted a year. The only thing that was good for my gap year is that I got a job using my chemistry degree and of course saved a few so I'm lessening my loan distribution.

I have a gap year. Looking forward to it lol

Members don't see this ad :)