General GPA Question

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

CaliCPhT

Moderator Emeritus
10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm taking some online classes this summer. The university I'm going to utilizes the +/- grading system. This will be my first experience with +/- courses. How does getting an A- affect the GPA versus an A, or a B+.

Sorry if this sounds really basic, I'm new to all this! :)

Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

Hey Im not sure if its the same in all schools but my school has grade equivalence points. For an A or A+ it counts as a 4.0, A- = 3.7, B+ = 3.3, B=3.0, B-= 2.7, C+=2.3, C-=2.0 and so on.

To find your GPA first, multiply the numerical equivalent of the grade earned in each course by the number of credits each course is worth. The result is known as "quality points." For example, a 3-credit course with a grade of C+ would give you 6.9 quality points (3 X 2.3 = 6.9).

Then, add all the quality points together, and divide the total by the number of credits taken. The result is the Grade Point Average.

Hope this helps :D

Darn, I made a double post.:oops: How can you delete your posts? lol

Members don't see this ad :)
I'm taking some online classes this summer. The university I'm going to utilizes the +/- grading system. This will be my first experience with +/- courses. How does getting an A- affect the GPA versus an A, or a B+.

Sorry if this sounds really basic, I'm new to all this! :)

Thanks!

If you are thinking ahead to how the plusses and minuses affect your GPA and you are going to apply to pharmacy school, I wouldn't worry about it. Most schools now use the Pharmcas system to calculate undergraduate GPA. Therefore, any plusses or minuses are disregarded and only the letter grade is used to calculate the GPA. In other words, a B- is the same as a B which is the same as a B+.

The plus/minus system will only be used by your undergraduate institution.