Getting a research position without experience

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

hopefuldoc7

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone, I'm pre-med and having a hard time landing a research assistant position as most labs are full. It certainly doesn't help that I'm only a freshman and therefore have close to zero research experience and have hardly taken any relevant coursework (so far, just one semester of gen chem and in progress gen chem II and introductory biology). However, I was just offered an informal "interview" with a lab to discuss my interests. How should I go about this interview when I have such little experience?

Forgot to mention, I'm a Psychology major which also doesn't help considering this is a biology lab that does research in pathology and immunotherapy. I'm highly interested in it but just don't have any credentials or experience as of now.

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 user
Hi everyone, I'm pre-med and having a hard time landing a research assistant position as most labs are full. It certainly doesn't help that I'm only a freshman and therefore have close to zero research experience and have hardly taken any relevant coursework (so far, just one semester of gen chem and in progress gen chem II and introductory biology). However, I was just offered an informal "interview" with a lab to discuss my interests. How should I go about this interview when I have such little experience?

Forgot to mention, I'm a Psychology major which also doesn't help considering this is a biology lab that does research in pathology and immunotherapy. I'm highly interested in it but just don't have any credentials or experience as of now.