This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Awkhawk

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello :)

I graduated UG in 2017 and recently finished my first year in a 2 year graduate program in religious studies. I unfortunately found myself in a financial bind this past spring and had to start working fulltime somewhere that pays well in order to start earning money to pursue my dreams. I've not put a pause on my graduate degree after months of deciding whether or not I should re-pursue medicine, and I've made my decision :)

I've always had an interest in medicine and have been seriously considering applying to med school in the next few years. However, the only issue is that bc of my job I can only take CC classes to fulfill the necessary science prereqs.

I'm hoping to apply in state (TX) and get residency soon and wanted to know a few things:

1. Would CC classes be okay when I apply as long as I have excellent grades, MCAT, volunteering? I work, so the most I can do rn is volunteer and maybe lead/co-lead a company volunteer event that's healthcare specific.

2. After finishing these prereqs, would pursuing a postbacc/MSTP be worth it to show I can handle graduate-level science courses? If so, I'm hoping to save enough money from the CC classes to pursue that down the road. But I've heard mixed reviews and when I contacted the schools I would like to get into they said that postbacc credits aren't accepted, which I found weird.

3. I am unable to find research opportunities since I work fulltime and am no longer an undergrad, but I have been looking into volunteering at local hospitals. Most of it is nonclinical but there is one clinical opportunity I hope to pursue. My question is, what would admissions think if I don't have research experience? Would that negatively impact me as much as I think despite having (hopefully) more than 100 hrs of volunteering?