Gpa:3.2, Mcat:25N, Should I bother with a MD school?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

vampiresoup

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I graduated with a Bioengineering degree from UCSD. Should I even apply to MD schools with these stats. I feel like I'll be wasting my money. What other options do I have? Any help would be appreciated!

Members don't see this ad.

I graduated with a Bioengineering degree from UCSD. Should I even apply to MD schools with these stats. I feel like I'll be wasting my money. What other options do I have? Any help would be appreciated!

Obviously you already know you're not getting in MD with what you've got now by the way you asked the question. So option 1 is to roll the dice with what you've got. Caribbean schools will take a look at you, and if you work hard during med school you'll have a limited yet still reasonable range of residency positions available to you. Option 2 (the better choice) is to get a real medical education. Take an extra couple of years to do a post-bac, retake the MCAT, boost the research/clinical exposure/volunteer section of your app, and charm the tits off the the MD adcoms. Still rolling the dice, since there's always the possibility that you'll still have to take a DO or Carib spot.

I'd mosdef retake the MCAT. You have a shot at some DO schools and maybe some MD schools if you get lucky. Are you a URM?

Members don't see this ad :)
I'd mosdef retake the MCAT. You have a shot at some DO schools and maybe some MD schools if you get lucky. Are you a URM?

No I am not. But I am researching the possibility of applying as a disadvantaged student since english was not my first language and I moved to the US about 7 years ago.