GPA or Research?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

podocyteneg

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone!
I am a student here at TCU. TCU has a rigorous pre-med program, so my GPA is not looking so good. I heard many people talk about how research program has helped to boost their application, so I am looking into doing a summer research program. However, I also need to retake organic chem I. Yet, the research program will probably take up all of my summer. I decided to maybe do a SMP at TCOM before applying to med school, which means that the summer after graduation, I will be taking classes. Basically, I only have this summer to do the research program. Should I just retake Ochem or do the research? Please help me out!

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
With your GPA, you're not going to be looking at any research-focused schools (ie. top-whatevers). Your time would be much better spent working on getting your GPA up as high as possible.

Reactions: 3 users
It's much more difficult repairing GPA than it is landing a research spot. Repair your GPA and then do whatever research your heart desires. You need to start having a strong upward GPA trend.

Reactions: 2 users
Members don't see this ad :)
TCU has a rigorous pre-med program, so my GPA is not looking so good (cGPA: 3.15 sGPA: 2.83)

I don’t think that’s the problem (never even heard of TCU tbh). Fix the problem before you add an additional one doing research

With your GPA, you're not going to be looking at any research-focused schools (ie. top-whatevers). Your time would be much better spent working on getting your GPA up as high as possible.
Thank you so much for your advise!

It's much more difficult repairing GPA than it is landing a research spot. Repair your GPA and then do whatever research your heart desires. You need to start having a strong upward GPA trend.