Guide for EM re-applicants?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Mat the coolcat

jus tryn'a make it
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all,

I didn't match into emergency medicine last week, and I'm searching for a guide for re-applying if anyone has one; I'm a DO student who's definitely still set on re-applying EM for next year.

My mentor/advisor and I are still kind of at a loss for why I didn't match; I wasn't even on his radar for not matching. I had good scores, good grades, and I overall interview well (I think at least...), and my record is squeaky clean.

Maybe I had a bad SLOE, but I truthfully don't know, because I had 9 interviews initially and then got 3 more at better places after I sent in a late SLOE from a big-whig institution. Or maybe people started taking the SVI seriously (tanked that), but I truly don't know why I didn't match.

I scrambled into a TRI year at an institution with an EM program that historically has taken their TRI's, which is a huge plus. My plan is to bang out a few publications I've been procrastinating on, work my ass off at my TRI program, and brush up on my Spanish prior to re-applying next year. Gonna apply WAY more broadly too (still applied to 60+ programs last year).

All this said, if anyone has a written guide, or links to websites, or general advice to help me successfully reapply next year, I will forever be in your debt.

Thank y'all!

Members don't see this ad.

Sorry things didn't go your way. Fellow former EM applicant here. Didn't match EM (ended up in a categorical IM spot) and then decided to reapply as a PGY1. I still didn't match as a re-applicant so feel free to take any of my advice with a grain of salt, but if you have any specific questions I'm happy to offer any advice after having gone through the process twice.

Reactions: 1 user
Members don't see this ad :)
Hi all,