Had to Withdraw from SMP after first term, go back?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

venuskiwi

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi All,
I was a SMP student at EVMS Medical Master's 1 year program a year ago. I didn't start well but then in the middle of my first semester my best friend got run over and killed in a car crash, then in the beginning of my second semester my grandfather died, and another friend committed suicide. It was a bad 3-4 months. This all combined within about 3 months and I ended up not doing well in the first semester (my grades were trending up until this happened) and I struck a deal with the director of the program for me to withdraw with no second semester grades. This means on my transcript I have three classes:
1. Professional Skills: A (3 Credits)
2. Human Structure: C+ (7 Credits)
3. Foundational Science: B- (8 Credits)

GPA: 2.76

Obviously not ideal, and after this I left, got a job as a software engineer, and now live out in Kansas City, MO working full time. But I know I'd like to still be a physician, I'm also not stupid and know this is at best a significant issue and at worst a killer for any future medical career.

My question is, with time (like over the course of 2-3 years) could I take some classes, re-enroll in an SMP and do better without the issues that affected me this time and potentially have a chance? Or is my medical career over?

I was thinking I'd spend some time doing more volunteering and MCAT studying, maybe taking a class or two to keep my brain functioning as a student and raise my sgpa, and then re-apply to another SMP like KCU's, hopefully ace it, and then re-apply. I was too young for the SMP and got distracted too easily anyway, and I want to take some time to mature (having a full time job has matured me very quickly as well), but my grades were trending way up (A on the exam right before my friend was killed).