This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

kaydeedental

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone,

I am currently a second semester sophomore and I feel really overwhelmed about my prospects of dental school. I feel like I am not going to get into dental school with my scores and it is stressing me out. I see many students who have much higher GPAs than I do and I just don't see myself getting in. I want to achieve my dream of being a dentist so badly and will do anything to make it possible.
There is no excuse for my low grades at all either...

Background on me:
TX resident , Currently in OChem 2 and Cell Biology This Semester (plus other non-science classes), Major is Sociology.
1-Sem.Freshman Year oGPA =3.2 , sGPA= 2.50 GPA
2-Sem. Freshman Year oGPA=3.5, s GPA 3.5 GPA
1 Sem Sophomore year oGPA= 3.79 sGPA, 3.63 GPA
total o GPA= 3.568, sGPA =3.32

Please let me know what I can do to make this better. Give me tough love. Please be honest because I want to be a dentist so badly and I am terrified that I screwed up everything for myself.

Sincerely,
Overwhelmed Pre-Dental Student

Members don't see this ad.

Your grades really aren't bad, and on top of that you have plenty of time to improve. You'll be fine.

Reactions: 4 users
I second Sobertiger. You have a lot of opportunity to bring those grade up.

Reactions: 1 user
Members don't see this ad :)
Your grades are fine. I had similar, if not worse, and I had 8 pre-december interviews and 5 acceptances. Just do well on the DAT.

You’re doing way better than I was at that time lol you’ll be so fine. Definitely keep up the good grades though and try to do well on the DAT. Don’t let sdn people make you think you need a 4.0 and 25 on your DAT to get into dental school...it’s just not true.

Sent from my iPhone using SDN mobile