MD & DO Help creating school list and general speculation on odds.

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

NewYorkIsBestYork

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all,

I was hoping to get some help creating a school list. I'm applying this cycle as a first time applicant and not really sure how to categorize myself in terms of competitiveness. I'm a NY state resident and ORM. I qualify for FAP but don't really think I'd count as disadvantaged.

I'll list and summarize my stuff:

B.S. Biochemistry
3.26 cGPA
3.21 sGPA

M.S. Biochemistry and Cellular Biology
3.88 GPA

MCAT only took it once and got a 517:
C/P:127
CARS:130
B/B:131
P/S:129

Research experience:
3 years on breast cancer invasion and metastasis mechanisms, then helped my lab start a company that is only like 2 months old so nothing much to report from that yet.
The research that I've done so far has net me 2 publications both are second author manuscripts. First was in a medium level impact and second is in medium-high impact.

Leadership:
I've spent 5 years at my volunteer ambulance corps and was elected an officer there. Had a staff of ~30 people in charge of training all of our new members the EMT-B curriculum. My role was basically course director, designing all the lectures and curriculum, designing skills sessions, designing and running case studies. I'm also a certified AEMT-CC and have been for about 2 years now. Prior to that was an EMT-B for about 3 years. All told I worked out I've spent ~4300 hours either treating patients or doing other work there whether it's teaching or other responsibilities.

Also in charge of all the training of new members in my lab in terms of the basic procedures/ research techniques they're going to need for their projects.