General Admissions & OTCAS HELP! Do I have a chance? (Started late on applications, 2.85 gpa, etc.)

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

mothelpme

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
I feel like there's a LOT of posts asking this but I'll make it short and sweet:

I thought I was graduating next fall, turns out I am graduating in the spring with my Bachelor's, which means, uh oh, I need to apply for grad schools and apply fast. This has turned my life into a stressful hellhole but I'm managing. However, I just want to see if there's even a point. (Though I'll try anyway.)

*2.85 GPA (yikes)

*C in anatomy and physiology *And this is after retaking...

*I only have 5 hours of observation, however and am in the middle of the process of accumulating more. This is the worst thing about starting late. I feel so stupid.

*I have been working as a CNA since I was 17 (four years). I'm placing a lot of hope on this selling point alone.

*I take my GRE on the 27th.

*I have great (non OT) volunteer hours through clubs at my community college but it seems like ever since I transferred to a university after getting my associates, I feel like I'm at a huge disadvantage than everyone else.

I feel very defeated but the battle hasn't even begun. I've got a huge chunk of my applications done, just need to write essays and get an OT recommendation letter. My other recommendation letters are strong and from great sources (Vice President of the community college I went to and work supervisor who has seen how I interact with patients)

I just... Really want to be an OT but feel as if schools will look at my GPA and throw away the application before even looking at what I have to offer. Part of me wishes I had not switched from nursing but I know I wouldn't be happy with that choice.

Members don't see this ad.

Where do you want to apply?