Help: Medical School/Medical Profession v. Dental School/Dental Profession?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

VortexGreen

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a junior undergrad and have considered many career options during my time in school so far, but the one I have been most interested in and have been preparing for is being a physician. However, lately I find myself questioning whether being a doctor is really the best option for me and whether I have given dentistry enough thought. I have shadowed some docs, but never a dentist (I will soon). I know a lot of what to expect in medical school, but I do not know a lot of what to expect in dental school. I would like to be interested in the material I am to learn and practice. I feel I would be with medical school, but I am concerned the material in dental school may be, well, more boring. Although, dentistry as a practice may be interesting. Also, I am worried about the high number of hours/oncall requirement for many, but not all types of doctors, since I place a strong value on family and recreational time. On average, it seems that dentists have more free time, but is the work enjoyable? Is dental school exciting/interesting or boring? If other pre-dents, pre-meds, or matriculants of either types of school who have had a similar problem in deciding could help me by sharing what made you decide to go one way or the other I would appreciate it. Honest comments please. Thank you!

I don't care about any salary differences or how hard it is to get into one or the other types of schools, I care more about being interested in my work and being able to have a life outside of work.

Members don't see this ad.

I have shadowed some docs, but never a dentist (I will soon).

You don't need our advice to decide whether the profession is interesting to you or not. Just shadow a dentist or two and see for yourself.