Help! Which School Should I Choose?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

jdom1405

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am currently an undergraduate student in Chicago, applying for physical therapy schools this summer. I have narrowed down my choice to two options:

1. University of Illinois at Chicago (UIC) -----> $76K, and I would be able to commute to school
2. University of Wisconsin-Madison (UWM) -----> $108K, but that's not including 3 years worth of living expenses​

I estimate that I will graduate with about $27K in undergraduate debt. Now, based on the numbers, it's obvious which choice I should go with. However... I also want to pursue a PhD degree in Biomechanics after completing my DPT. I want to do research in running biomechanics, and UWM has the facilities, research, and professors that are doing exactly that. UIC does not have any of it.

My fear is that if I attend UIC, I will have a significantly more difficult time being accepted into the PhD program later. I won't have the connections or the experience to make for a strong biomechanics candidate. By attending UWM then, I am banking on the hope (operative word) that:
[1] I will get into the PhD program (which, there's no guarantee of that either), and
[2] that having both a clinical and teaching/research degree will give me the freedom and flexibility to work in a variety of settings.​
In essence, if I cannot land a contract with a running company or become a professor and institutional researcher, I can 'fall back' on my DPT.

So, is it worth taking out more loans then? The PhD won't be any additional debt because I can always get an assistantship or teaching position and receive tuition remission. Any advice, opinion, or anecdotes would be most greatly appreciated!

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited: