Help with school list- problem might be ECs?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

peyerpatch23

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
This is my first time ever posting on SDN after years of lurking so please bear with me!
I want to make my school list now that way I can prepare over this semester for the 2018-2019 app cycle. I have used the LizzyM (76.4) and WARS (88) scores but I feel like my stats put me at a higher tier of schools than I have a chance at. My ECs are super interesting to me and I’m dedicated to them/have learned a lot about medicine and myself. But to an adcom, I’m not so sure. Here’s my breakdown and my current preliminary school list (open to allll suggestions for adding/deleting):

Year: Junior
State: Michigan
cGPA: 3.94
sGPA: 3.94
MCAT: 520

Research: same lab since I started freshman year, main author on 1 poster (variable timing but ~8 hours weekly on avg, this year it’s kicked up a notch)

Clinical Volunteering: Fall risk volunteer and volunteer director at Hospital 1 (50 hours over 1.5 years, 2 hours weekly)

Shadowing: OB/Gyn 1 (60 hours), internal med (100 hours), pulmonologist (50 hours), pediatrician (DO) (30 hours), OB/Gyn (20 hours)

Non clinical volunteering: place of worship/youth group (100 hours over 3 years), volunteering in my campus’s city through my dance team (40 hours over 2 years, 4 hours monthly), blood bank at Hospital 2 (60 hours over 2 years), this semester I’m adding transitional home for homeless families (30 hours over 1 semester, 2 hours weekly)

Extracurricular Activities:
-Pre-SOMA (leadership: website and social media)- 6 hours monthly (weaaaak I know)
-RotarACT - rotary club for college age, monthly meetings and volunteering here and there
-Mentor for pre-DO program I’m in- 3 hours a week