Help With School List?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

calvinknight1996

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey guys, I'm new to this, but I'm a little stuck with my school list.

MI resident
Year: Rising Senior
Majors: Double in Biochemistry (honors) and Philosophy
cGPA:3.91
sGPA: 3.95
MCAT: 520
Research:
1 year, cancer lab, 2nd author paper submitted for publication (not published yet). Currently 2nd lab in a research fellowship at a top 10 research university, will have poster/presentation. Will be in a 3rd lab at home college for following school year.
Volunteering:
~100 hours: medical scribe at free clinic for disadvantaged populations.
~60 hours: serving and cleaning at local church for community suppers
~40 hours: mentoring elementary/middle school kids from disadvantaged populations
Shadowing: ~120 hours, neurology. ~40 hours, general practice. ~40 hours, medical missions (various)
Undergrad: small liberal arts school in MI
ECs: President and captain of school Ultimate Frisbee team, member of elite academic honors organization (~20 people) at school, lead cellist in school cello ensemble, lead singer for school's men's acapella ensemble

List so far:
(Top 10)
Columbia (dream school)
Northwestern
Cornell
Yale
Harvard
NYU
UCSF
Michigan
Vanderbilt
UChicago
(Rest)
Duke
USC
Baylor
Sinai
Case
Georgetown
Oregon

My list is very top heavy, so I was mainly wondering:
A: are these schools too much of a reach?
B: what "safety" schools should I add?

Aside from Michigan, my MCAT/GPA is much higher than the average for the other state schools, so I am concerned that they may reject me under the impression that they are backups.

Members don't see this ad.