How badly did I screw up already?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

cowslayer

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a first year student at COMP and I am seeking opinion from any of you out there that have gone a lot further in your medical eduction than I have.

My first semester was pretty bad. I barely passed all of my classes and have probably scored 5-7% below average overall in my class, mostly because I failed one class (it was a 2 week head&neck anatomy class with one exam so not a huge deal overall GPA wise but still, a failed class nonetheless).
Now I'm in my second semester and I am firmly set right on the average of all our exams or maybe a few percentage points above.

I was just wondering how screwed I am regarding being competitive for future residency placements? I am working harder and I know my grades can improve and hopefully I can rock the boards.
The stain of the first semester was a bad blow to my ego in general I guess and I started freaking out about IM/FM being the only things I should even realistically consider.

But I would really like to specialize later, my choices so far being EM, Physical Medicine & Rehab, Urology, Anesthesiology (I know this one is a long shot).
Is there a "how difficult is it to get this specialty" list somewhere? :)

Any general opinions? Advice?

Members don't see this ad.

I'm a first year student at COMP and I am seeking opinion from any of you out there that have gone a lot further in your medical eduction than I have.

My first semester was pretty bad. I barely passed all of my classes and have probably scored 5-7% below average overall in my class, mostly because I failed one class (it was a 2 week head&neck anatomy class with one exam so not a huge deal overall GPA wise but still, a failed class nonetheless).