How Can I Become a Stronger Medical School Candidate?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

tpain707

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello, I’m looking for advice on improving my medical school application competitiveness. I'd like to apply for the 2017 cycle. I’m interested in both DO and MD programs. I'm willing to go to just about any US school that will accept me. I graduated from UC Berkeley in May of 2014 with a degree in Molecular and Cell Biology: Biochemistry and Molecular Biology and a minor in Spanish. My undergraduate GPA is too poor to be considered eligible for medical school. I’ve read on these forums about post-bacc and special master’s programs. Both programs seem to be good options, but I’m not sure which program would best help me improve my chances of getting into medical school. I’m also interested in working as a scribe.

Stats:
  • California resident
  • 23 y/o
  • White, Caucasian Male
  • cGPA: 3.1
  • sGPA: 2.73
  • MCAT: 506 (September, 2015)
  • 1 year of research experience as an undergrad (2013-2014)
  • 1 year teaching English in Spain (2014-2015)
  • 1 summer working at a mental health institute (2011)

I take full responsibility for not being a top-notch student, and I’ve spent the last year and a half improving my habits.

What course of action would you advise in order for me to become a competitive medical school (DO or MD) candidate?

Thank you for your time and consideration.

Sincerely,
T

Members don't see this ad.

The sGPA is the area that needs to be addressed. You have a couple ways to

a) Retake all C grades and lower and take some more upper level science courses in some form of informal post bacc at a local U. Get your DO sGPA above a 3.0 preferably 3.2+, and with the 506 you have a reasonable shot at generating some interest from DO programs. This is a relatively straight forward low risk approach.