How did you do it?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Alie1996

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a career changer. I got a BA in Sustainable Agriculture and I worked mostly with animals after college I’m now working as a vet assistant. I really want to go to veterinary school but I’m already 20k in debt and I still have 2 years worth of prerequisites to take before I can apply.
It seems insurmountable. Incurring more debt just to have the slim chance of being admitted. Most my my income already goes towards paying off debt and living expenses.
How did you career changers do it? Is there any hope for me?

Members don't see this ad.

I was in a similar situation. I worked as a vet assistant while taking prerequisites to prepare to apply to vet school after being out of school for a few years. Granted, I only had a handful of prereqs to take because I majored in a science in undergrad, and I was fortunate to find a post-bacc program near me that offered evening classes and allowed me to take only the courses I needed. But I was able to do it without incurring any more debt - I worked full-time and had roommates which kept my cost of living fairly low. That said, I understand your situation might be different, and your concern about the debt is valid.

I would recommend doing your research on post-bacc programs and/or universities where you can take the prereqs at the lowest cost possible (state schools, community colleges, etc.). My understanding is that it doesn't really matter where you take them, though you might consider contacting a few vet school admissions offices to confirm. Once you have those done, if you can, I would highly recommend moving to a state that has a state school and applying as an in-state applicant. That will both increase your chances of being admitted and decrease the cost of tuition significantly.

Hope that helps.

Reactions: 2 users